sirisa clark

the things I do and the words I choose

coping with long-haul

Leave a comment

Little more than 26 hours until I board my flight and head Japan-wards! I appreciate this makes me a little weird, but I quite like long-haul flights. I think they give travelling overseas more of a sense of occasion than little ryanair hops to Europe. There’s time to read, watch movies, eat appalling food, have a little sleep. Admittedly, the older I get, the less equipped my body is to handle long-haul flights. To combat this, I will be doing some or all of the following:

  • Staying hydrated – I’ve read it’s best to drink a lot of water throughout the day before the flight, so that you are actually well hydrated before you board, rather than drinking a gallon of water on the flight and having to run to the loo every 5 minutes.
  • Popping pills – I’m so incredibly paranoid about DVT, I plan to take some aspirin with me and take one every 10 hours to keep my blood nice and thin!
  • Stretching my legs – Getting up regularly and walking around is a total pain, particularly if you’re lucky enough to get the window seat. So instead I’ll be sitting in my seat and wiggling my feet around, flexing and pointing to keep the blood pumping.
  • Sleeping – sleeping on planes has thankfully never been a problem for me. It’ll be roughly 3.30am Tokyo time when I get board the plane, so to try and nip any jet lag in the bud I’ll make a start on getting on Japanese time.

All of which reminds me, I need to go print my travel documents and find a neck pillow… Otherwise I’m all packed and ready to go!

Leave a Reply

