sirisa clark

the things I do and the words I choose

Almost Wordless Wednesday: Composed

2 Comments

So, I have to confess that between finishing the scarf, Ben’s Supervillain-themed fancy dress birthday party (yes, I was Catwoman again, causing some discussion about the moral ambiguity of her character), and catching a filthy stinking cold, I have a) not been blogging much, and b) not had any time to take photos.

Which was a slight problem for this week’s homework: find an interesting piece of architecture, and practice the 6 basic types of composition on it: Thirds, Diagonals, Lead In/Out, Pattern/Detail, Framing and Straight On.

In a bit of a panic, I turned to the past and decided to rifle through my photos of India and Japan to find some decent shots. And you know what I found? I’m not very good at taking photos. Yes I know, I was shocked too.

After a couple of hours, several hundred photos and a serious dose of despondency, I selected a handful from my visit to Japan. I got them printed, took a deep breath and headed to class. Only to find there was no critique this week, we were heading out to shoot St Pancras station instead.

But hey, that doesn’t mean you guys can’t critique them! Here are my shots of Japan, focusing on Torii gates.

Bonus fact: just realised I took all of these on my old Olympus Mju, so actually kind of pleased with the respective quality

Diagonal

Framing

Lead In

Thirds

Detail/ Pattern

 

Straight On

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Almost Wordless Wednesday: Composed

  1. What’s the difference between frame and straight on?

  2. Ah, good question Zheng. I am not going to be able to recall the proper definitions of the types, and the pictures I chose here are a bit ambiguous between framing and straight on. But essentially: straight on is just a straight photo of the subject – centred rather than on the horizontal or vertical third, no angle, nothing visually leading you in. And framing means that the subject is framed in some way. In my examples, the view is framed by the dark silhouette of the temple, and the front door of the building is framed by the gate. But they’re not amazing photos, and they weren’t taken with those composition types in mind, so they aren’t intended as exemplars!

Leave a Reply

